Insomnia ✖ Welcoming A New Year…Recap of 2016.

HAPPY NEW YEAR. 

I am super excited about this new year. Been anticipating it.

So 2016 for me was a year filled with late nights, achievements, down sides, and reflections. I feel like I learnt a lot about myself and what I really want.

So for the most part of this year, I have been staying up really late and it is not the usual staying awake because you had a really long nap or because you are watching a movie or reading a well written novel. I have been staying up really late and I feel my mind is just convinced that that’s the only time I can have me time and reflect on my day and prepare for the new day. It seems like a good thing, but it really bothers me because it takes long to get back to sleep and I always have to be up super early.

So, I am hopeful that in 2017, I won’t have to be up later than needed.

2016’s Christmas was one of a kind. It was not the regular, anticipated one for me but I got through the day with an understanding of what the day truly meant.

So without wasting anymore time, I’ll get to the 16 things I learnt in 2016.

1. Turn your insecurities around, to work in your favor. Everyone has insecurities, no matter how perfect we may seem on the outside. I was watching an episode of KUWTK and Kim said ‘if you don’t like something about yourself, you are free to change it.’

While this might seem logical, I quite disagree. Change is not permanent and unfortunately, humans are imperfect beings, so making a change would not be absolute, and we find ourselves continuously changing, neglecting the things that actually matter.

I attended a church Congress and the minister said ‘it is that thing that is imperfect in you, that makes you stand out’. We need to allow our insecurities be a plus for us. I am naturally awkward and scared of meeting people because of my fear of being judged. I let this work in my favor by first introducing my awkwardness in a conversation to make that person see my imperfection as humor and sweet.

 

2. You are not the first to think of an idea but what stops you from owning it. The problem of plagiarism is battled everywhere in the world. No one wants to think of an idea and later find out that someone else is recognized as the founder of that idea that has turned into an empire. Recently, I changed my Instagram bio, because that social media seems to be the alpha when it comes to promoting businesses and brands, I put in that I was the founder of the Inspire Week. Yes, it is not so popular but I took a step in owning it. Nothing stops someone else from planning an inspire week after I already had mine, but it came to me, personalizing it and being recognized for it, to have the upper hand.

 

3. Attitude of Gratitude ✖ Gratitude on Demand. An attitude of gratitude is one of the most important things. Appreciation, even on another person’s behalf gives us happiness and helps us stay positive. An attitude of gratitude on demand keeps us grounded and keeps us aware of our privileges. I recently downloaded a gratitude exercise app on my phone called Bliss and it is definitely eye opening. It keeps me aware of the privileges I have been awarded and it also helps me keep in touch with my maker.

 

4. A negative mind is an obstacle to a positive life. I used to think that it will take a lot of hardship before I achieved my goals. Yes, everyone needs to work hard to achieve, but I made it really personal, like it was what I deserved. I recently realized that a constant negative mind, holds me back from a positive life.

 

5. It is okay to be vulnerable. In a post here,  I talked about an event I attended that required openness. It is definitely difficult to bare yourself, especially to complete strangers but I found myself partaking and it made me know myself more and I was also able to connect with the people in attendance.

 

6. When trying out books on wattpad, stay away from incomplete one’s. This might seem random, but it actually bothers me when I get into a novel and I try to move on to a new chapter and find that it’s the end of the story. What annoys me more than this is when after a few weeks, the author puts the book on hold…I’m like

Why…Why…………..Why……….Why………..Why?

why-gif-458

 

7. No one cares if you go to see a movie and you don’t buy snacks…it’s actually a thing. I used to think it was a norm to buy snacks when seeing a movie in a cinema. It was not until I was broke that I noticed that people actually see movies without the popular popcorn and a drink.

 

8. Never ever compare yourself to another individual. There is always someone in the world that is doing better than you and has things that you want. Comparing yourself to someone else is an endless journey and it soon turns to envy, which is unhealthy for you, and makes you loose sight of your true self.

 

9. It’s okay to day dream but do not turn it to a habit…reality is waiting for you. I used to have the craziest and longest day dreams and I soon found that it took focus away from real life. I was so trapped that facing real life got hard. My expectations got high and I didn’t prepare myself for possible failure.

 

10. Your mantra should be “I Could” and not “I Should”. You might be wondering, what’s the difference? When making plans, placing it in the category of “I Should” allows you set yourself up for regret. “I Could” is a life of possibilities. It allows you to move on to new things, or try again, when things fail at the beginning without feeling regret.

 

11. It’s okay to make plans even if they don’t always work out. 

Don’t be discouraged by this quote. Yes, God directs our paths in life but we need to make plans because without it, we would be lost and would be unable to prioritize. Making plans and getting disappointed is just one of the perks of life, despite that fact, we should not let life stop us from doing the needful.

 

12. YouTube is fun. I recently started being a regular YouTube watcher and it turned out to be a lot of fun. It is another way to learn and it is the closest thing to a movie. I will be doing a post of my favorite YouTube channels sometime during the year.

 

13. Not everything is what it seems.

A lot of us get carried away by the things we see, but not everything is as it seems. Beneath every perfection are imperfections.

 

14. Working out is not always difficult. I talked a lot on the blog about how I wanted to loose weight but the thought of actually starting a work out routine scared me to tears. I recently started and I realized that it gets better and interesting and even though you do not loose all the weight immediately, you begin to feel good from your first start.

 

15. God is cool. Unfortunately, I just found out. I was always a little hesistant to truly pursue a relationship with God because I was not encouraged by the way some people wore Christianity. You must be wondering…Isn’t salvation personal? Yes it is, but just like everyone, I am influenced by the physical. I recently started pursuing a relationship with God and I realized that He is cool and His word is full of knowledge beyond Google.

 

16. Quitting is not an option. This is actually one of the statements of the 2017 Inspire Week which will be taking place during the second full week in February.

Never associate quitting with your life choices. You might not be where you want to be, but, everything you are experiencing at this moment, whatever it is, is exactly what you need for your personal growth, so trust it.

 

 

Wow, thanks for hanging on till the end guys.

What did you learn from 2016 and how was it for you in general?

Thanks for stopping by

images_20170101010241985.jpg


             

23 thoughts on “Insomnia ✖ Welcoming A New Year…Recap of 2016.

  1. hrh7 says:

    1. Definitely God is the coolest being I know.
    2. LOL @ Wattpad. Before I even put any book in my library, I make sure I see an epilogue. No time for drama biko.
    3. YouTube is totally fun. I mostly use it to catch up on my sermons on days I don’t want to go to church. Check out Joshua Eze, Poets in Autumn, Janette…ikz, Christine Caine and Joyce Meyer.
    Have a fantastic 2017. May God bless you abundantly and greatly increase the works of your hands.

    http://insearchofperfecthair.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anuli says:

      Thanks a lot darling I wish you a prosperous 2017. Thanks for the suggestions, I definitely need access to the word of God in any kind of way. LOL, I have sworn off reading incomplete novels on wattpad, the frustration is unbearable. Thanks a lot for the comment love, I really appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. manishasareen says:

    Great blog post Anuli!

    I love your idea of Inspire Week! You took initiative and that is all that matters at the end of the day. It may inspire others to create their own week. You are truly a source of inspiration, keep up the excellent work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anuli says:

      😄😄😄😄 Your comment just put the biggest smile on my face. Thanks a lot, I am very happy you enjoyed the read and I am happy and feel special that I inspire you. Thank you very much, I will definitely put in more work.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joycedaniels says:

    My 2016 was awesome and my 2017 is going to exceed my expectations. One major thing I entered 2017 with was a positive mind and I also decided to push aside my self criticism and just put myself out there. I picked up a few things to work on from your post.
    That watt pad thing can be extremely annoying!!! I always check now before I add them

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anuli says:

      Lool, I agree with the wattpad thing. I think a lof of people are looking to achieve more this year and leave a lot of negativities behind. I am very glad you were able to pick up somethings from this post. I hope you have a fun filled year and we’ll be back here at the end, celebrating. Thanks for commenting dear.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. onyajay says:

    What a lot of clever, funny, and inspiring messages. The quotes were GREAT. I loved them, good luck with your goals and congratulations on your achievements. One of mine is also to continue losing a few more kilos, and to get my blog off the ground, and to achieve something instead of just thinking of the idea and letting it go. I hope I can do it. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anuli says:

      Thanks a lot dear. I am glad you loved this. I for one understand the weight loss thing, it is always scary at the beginning but still go for it and make sure you are doing it for the right reasons, it will also help to understand your body as well. Please do get your blog off the ground and enjoy the process, I have faith in you. Thanks a lot for the comment dear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

