image poster for Attitude Of Gratitude Guest Post on Anuli's Blog

Attitude of Gratitude || Guest Post.

The moment you stop and look around, you will get to know that you have so many small moments full of happiness. So just be thankful, as many others don’t have these moments. There are also some who do, but can’t visualize them; and even some who have, but can’t appreciate them.” 

   Vikrmn10 Golden Steps of Life

Hey guys!…I have really missed you. This once in a week post sucks but I have no one to blame but myself.

So the past week consisted of me trying to grow my social presence which is really difficult and also researching for a guest blog post and guess what? I finally found one.🙌

So I started working on the blog strategy I mentioned in my new month post and this guest post actually came out from that.

So the first paragraph of this post caught my attention and I just had to read on, let’s just say I got hooked.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How can one be happy? Many studies have been conducted to determine what makes a person happy. It can be because of their family, relationships, friends, money, job, car or other material possessions. For me, one can truly be happy if he/she can adopt an attitude of gratitude.

 

So I can safely classify myself as a happy person but the truth is, am I really? On how many ocassions are my moments of happiness forced just for outer appearance?  Am I satisfied with the little things I have enough to be grateful and happy about it? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe being grateful for anything even the small things open up opportunities for even bigger things. I have never taken anything for granted since I’ve adopted this attitude. I’m thankful for everything that I have: for my health, for my family, for my job, for my friends, for our house, for the car that I’m driving, for the food that I get to eat, for the experiences that some people can only dream of and for all the good things that have been happening. I want to share some tips on how to adopt an attitude of gratitude and be happy for the rest of your life.

 

Most times, people get stuck grumbling about how little the things are that they get. I used to have that bad habit. This comes in most times when we feel we put in a lot and we have so little to show and then it is like life just likes to show off and we stumble upon people who have done less but get more or sometimes, the same as us. It really sucks. 

But I have found that we never truly move forward if we are stuck on how little things are.

So markanthony in this particular post on his blog gave tips that ensure that we stick to the gratitude lane. I know I’m all for it. Are you?

1.Be generous. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe that when you give more, the universe conspires to give something back to you ten folds. The keyword is abundance. The pie is big enough for everyone to share.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe that the true essence of giving is when you really want something but give it anyway. When you give to make others happy, you will be happy too.

 

So a lot of people are familiar with the passage in the scripture that says give and it shall be given unto you. It is also morally applicable but unfortunarely, not a lot of people are on this boat. One thing I have noticed from experience is that a lot of people give just to get something in return and when it doesn’t work out that way, they just shrug it off and classify it as a lesson learnt for another time, if you know what I mean.

With all the spirit of giving, one part I know I am personally hesistant of and am working to get rid of is helping someone out in an area I feel I know my way around. I always had that feeling that if I shared what I knew, I would be loosing and that person would be gaining.

A friend said to me; when you feel you are an expert in something, you become egotistic but he also said in teaching someone, you learn more than the person.

Think about that.

2. Keep a journal. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some call it a gratitude journal and some call it a diary. Why is it important? It’s because you can keep track of the good things or the bad things that happened and the actions that you took to make it right. I have an app on my phone calledMomento and I use it as my gratitude journal. It’s great because everyday, I have a notification that says “How was your day today?” or “What are you thankful for today?” And then you’ll try to remember what happened and write it in there. Sometimes, I just look back at the days when I had a problem and it’s funny because what was once a huge obstacle looks petty now.


I am not a big fan of keeping journals because I often forget them at the side when I get a new shiny thing to keep me occupied but after reading the original post I kind of saw reason.

This journal would serve the purpose of helping you keep tab with the occurrences in your life, whether good or bad.

So on any platform we can, we should make a habit of documenting moments either through pictures, videos or text.

3. Give a genuine compliment. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Try to say something nice to someone everyday.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Giving a compliment is a good thing and the person who is complimented should accept it and just say thanks. Sometimes, just a small note on a post it can brighten someone’s day.

 

Most people tend to derive joy in criticizing every little thing. I totally get the aspect of being honest but it is always better to keep mute when we do not have anything nice to say.

Also, in the process of saying something nice, be honest too because in a situation where the person sees the obvious truth, it seems like you are mocking them even though you are trying to be nice.

It is really complicated.

4. Tallk about it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just imagine what a great world this would be if people shared what they are thankful for rather than sharing gossips with each other. Sharing what you’re thankful for to others creates a ripple effect and your friends or families will also think of the things that they are grateful for thus eliminating the negative things from the conversation. Posting it on social media is also a good idea.

 

Ever been in a situation where a friend or a colleague is talking about something and it suddenly reminds you of something either related or totally different?

Sharing the things you are thankful for just might remind someone of things they should be thankful for or  impact someone, or even bless someone.

Just imagine it, your thanks saving a life.

5. Don’t hate, appreciate. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some people still have the crab mentality that nobody can be better than him or any other person doesn’t deserve the good life if he doesn’t have it for himself. I myself, am genuinely happy for people who are able to achieve their dreams, who gets to buy the things that they want or who betters his life in any way. We should not be bitter and think that we are the only ones entitled to a good life. Archibald Rutledge once said that the one of the sanest, surest, and most generous joys of life comes from being happy over the good fortune of others.

 

So envy is a big challenge when it comes to this point. A lot of people are too caught up envying someone’s success because they don’t have theirs and then this migrates to you comparing yourself to them and looking for wrongs in their techniques.

Life doesn’t work that way and you will find yourself stuck in a spot if it continues.

Find it in your heart to be truly happy for someone who has succeeded in achieving their dreams because it is really not easy and you will see, your life would be full of success stories too.

The more you appreciate, the more you will be appreciated.

An attitude of gratitude can be cultivated everyday by simply following the tips mentioned above. Everyday when you wake up, decide that it will be a good day and make the most out of it. With all the negativities surrounding us, there is always something to be thankful for.


How do you feel about the tips listed above?

Have you at one point in your life displayed negativity and ungratefulness because you were not satisfied with how things were for you? How did you overcome it?

Do you carry out any of the tips mentioned above, how has it helped you?

Here are related posts that can be helpful:

1. Why Instagram is king (and why you should be on it).

2. Why you should work hard even if you are paid less.

3. How to be Positive.

              Thanks for stopping by

                              Bye   👋

5 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude || Guest Post.

Leave a Reply

