image poster for Weekend Tales Post on Anuli's Blog

A Saturday Spent || Channelling My Inner Weirdo.

Saturday at terra kulture (a painting by Urom)

Hey guys, how has your weekend been so far? Hope you have done more than sitting on your couch or lying on your bed watching movies or series.
I would have been down for that but my weekend was full of watching Soundcity, Mtv Base and a visit to Terra Kulture which is what this post is about, although there was an occurrence that I wished never happened.

So you must be wondering about my title…well in few words, I feel artists are weird but the good kind and my inner weirdo rhymes with them. That was a lot of words…sorry.

Today’s art viewing was pretty much a first for me, I was invited by a passionate artist who has already been featured in a post here.

Seeing as it was a first for me, I decided to share a few tips with you guys. Now, I have not magically become a professional at having the time of my life at art viewings, I still had an awkward feeling even after the show.

So, the tips are as follows:

1. Concentrate for a few minutes on any art you come across. Now this might sound ridiculous but it worked for me. You know, there are somethings you see at first sight that you love and there are some that take a while to adjust to. The whole concept of concentrating is to give the non-catchy ones a chance. You might find that you just fall in love. This way, you get to see more.
2. Interact with the piece. Step one helps you to get to this step. I made the mistake of just walking to one of the artists and asking her to show me her work and after a half hour into the show, I found that I paid more detail to a briefing of a piece that I had actually interacted with before searching for the artist. The more interested you are in the piece, the more intrigued you become with the story behind it.
3. Be conversant. It gets boring after a while, for both you and the artist when all you do is nod. Yes, it’s your first time and you have no clue but you find that artists tend to find refreshing, opinions from people with no knowledge of art. Now, conversing with two artists helped me with this finding seeing as the conversation lasted a while.
4. Interact with fellow viewers, either newbies or oldies. This step actually makes you discover more art pieces that you might have brushed off at the beginning. I spent a while chatting with a lady who after a few minutes of discussing over a particular piece decided to show me her favorite and it was added to the ones I admired. Plus, it also makes the experience less lonely.

art by Oyinkansola Oyeyiola-Qurias

a group work

art by favour

art by Oyinkansola Oyeyiola-Qurias

art by zipporah coleman

How was your first art viewing?


Thanks for stopping by.

Bye👋

15 thoughts on “A Saturday Spent || Channelling My Inner Weirdo.

  1. Derick says:

    whoah this blog is wonderful i like reading
    your articles. Keep up the great work! You realize, a lot of individuals are looking around for
    this info, you can aid them greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jayson says:

    Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while
    but I never seem to get there! Thank you

    Like

  3. Marlie says:

    Hiya, I am really glad I have found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and this is actually annoying. A good site with exciting content, that is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

    Like

    • Anuli says:

      Hi Marlie, i am glad you find this blog worth your time. No, i do not do newsletters but if you want to contact me, you can do that on the Contact Me page. Thanks again for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

